Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Acting Secretary Larry R. Bond

Office of the Secretary

Acting Secretary Larry R. Bond
Since 2012, Larry R. Bond has served as the chief of staff to Kentucky’s 61st governor, Steve Beshear. In this capacity Bond is entrusted with working directly with the governor on a host of issues ranging from public protection, education, the Commonwealth’s interaction with local government, as well as the day-to-day operations within the Office of the Governor.
In addition to Bond’s role as Governor Beshear’s chief of staff, beginning in May 2014 upon Public Protection Cabinet (PPC) Secretary Robert D. Vance’s retirement, Governor Beshear asked Bond to also serve as acting secretary of the PPC until a permanent secretary is announced.
Prior to his appointment as chief of staff, Bond served as deputy chief of staff and as deputy secretary for the PPC overseeing 11 diverse agencies that share the common goal of protecting the public.
Before his service in state government, Bond served as the chief administrative officer for the Jefferson County government, as chief deputy and chief operating officer for the Jefferson County Circuit Clerk’s Office, and as director of administration with the rank of colonel for the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office.
Bond is a graduate of the Western Kentucky University Sheriff’s Academy and attended the University of Louisville and Kentucky Wesleyan University. He is a U.S. Army veteran and was decorated for his service during the Vietnam War.

Contact the Office of the Secretary staff by calling 502-564-7760 or by email using the links below.  The mailing address is:
Public Protection Cabinet
Office of the Secretary
5th Fl., Capital Plaza Tower
Frankfort, KY 40601 
Executive Staff

Larry Bond, Acting Cabinet Secretary
Dana Hawkins, Staff Assistant
Heather Combs, Policy Advisor